Aristotle University of Thessaloniki - Special Account for Research Funds- Department of Geology



It is one of the Greek public Universities state-founded and is under the control of the Ministry of National Education and Religious Affairs. Considered as the largest university in Greece, as well as in Balkan peninsula. The campus extended in about 230.000 m2 in the center of the city of Thessaloniki. Over than 40.000 students (undergraduates, postgraduates and in the level of PhD) are the active population, while the academic staff constitutes of something less than 2.500 persons. The University today has 12 Faculties and 36 Schools.
The various facilities offered by the University gives the ability to the scientific staff to carry out a massive research in a variety of fields. Both national and international projects performed. There is a close cooperation with other universities, institutes, organizations of Greece, as well as of other countries worldwide.
The international ranking of the University is in the 158th position among a list of about 20.0000 high institutions during 2012 Additionally the Aristotle University is in the first position among the 23 Universities operated in Greece. Moreover 32 Patents produced in the University during the last 3 years have been confessed at national and European, as well as in a global level.
The office of the Research Committee of the Aristotle University regulates the research produced in the University. It covers almost completely any needs of the research activity and managed a special account which called special account of research funds, which is the funding support to various research projects.

The School of Geology belongs to the Faculty of Sciences of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki. The scientific fields covered by the school are: Geology, Applied Geology, Structural Geology, Environmental Geology, Economic Geology, Palaeontology, Physical Geography, Stratigraphy, Hydrogeology, Engineering Geology, Geophysics, Seismology, Geothermics, Fossil Fuels, Climatology, Meteorology, Geochemistry, Petrology, Mineralogy, Industrial Minerals and Rocks.
The School of Geology offers to all undergraduates the basic knowledge and the skills for effective practice of the profession of Geologist. as well as provides the chance to students for further knowledge on some special directions as:  a) Structural Geology-Stratigraphy, b) Geophysics, c) Enviromental Geography, d) Meteorology and Climatology, e) Applied Geology, f) Mineralogy-Petrology and f) Economic Geology.
Two postgraduate programs are in operation in the School of Geology. The first one relates with Geology and Geoenvironment, while the second one concerns the Meteorology-Climatology and Atmosphere Environment. Postgraduate studies are of a two years duration and leading to Doctoral degrees.
The School of Geology presents significant activities. The scientific staff elaborates in numerous research programs and many of them are in collaboration with various national and international institutions and organizations. The staff also publishes a significant number of research paper per annum in international and national scientific journals. Also, the School has successfully organized many international and national congresses and meetings.

Projects involved as partner


top Facebook Twitter Linkedin Share