The "Greece – The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia IPA Cross-Border Programme 2007-2013" is co-financed by the European Union under the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance (IPA). It was approved on 5/09/08by the European Commission Decision C (2008) 4717.


The total budget of the Programme for the period 2007-2013 is 31.549.722,00€.

Global Objective – Priority Axes

The Global Objective of the Programme is “to enhance convergence in the programme area by promoting sustainable local development”.

The Programme consists of three Priority Axes:

  • Priority Axis 1: “Enhancement of cross-border economic development”

  • Priority Axis 2: “Enhancement of the environmental resources and cultural heritage of the programme area”

  • Priority Axis 3: “Technical Assistance”

Eligible area

The Programme area consists of:

  • Greece: Region of Western Macedonia (Regional entity of Florina) and Region of Central Macedonia (Regional entities of Pella, Kilkis, Serres and Thessaloniki).
  • The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia: Regions of Pelagonia, Vardar, Southeast and Southwest.

*The Regional unit of Thessaloniki and the Region of Southwest are included as adjacent areas.